12l (3.17g) tank - Actually big enough for anything?

1. Baba B Initiate Member

As the title implies, I have a very tiny fish tank that I inherited. It is only 12 liters (~3 gallons). Is the tank large enough to healthfully house anything other than fry? If so, which species of fish would do best in such a small environment? Neon tetras come to mind as something I’d like to keep...but as a noob I want to learn before I buy anything. Thanks!

2. Aquaphobia Fishlore Legend Member

Neon tetras definitely won't be happy in that size tank, but what are the dimensions? If it's not tall and narrow it may be possible to keep a Betta in it! Shrimp though would definitely work;)

3. Airth Member Member

I second the shrimp or betta, though leaning toward shrimp; my personal preference is at least a 5 gallon for a betta. Always feel bad seeing them in those small cups that when I get one, I like to give it as much room as I possibly can. lol

Please be sure to cycle your tank before getting any fish for the tank. =)

4. Pringlethesnail Well Known Member Member

Betta, nano shrimp, snails. For fun all add pros and cons lol.
    Pros
    Betta- great personality, will come to the wall to greet you and get excited if you talk to it or are active near the tank
    Snail-nerite you could keep one or two with the Betta, mystery snails are awesome to watch and funny little creatures.
    Shrimp- will reproduce and have young so you can watch the female care for eggs and the babies grow up.
    Cons
    Betta- many are sold already ill
    Snails- nerite females lay eggs everywhere that are impossible to remove and there's no way to tell male and female apart. Mystery-egg clutches and babies
    Shrimp- ?