120 gallon stand

paswed
I am trying to bulid a stand for my 120 gallon tank would be gald to have any input on how to do this

swords3711
well I'm not quite sure how to
I'm in a woodworking class right now and am probably going to be building a stand for a ten gallon
my recommendation would be to use oak, a waterproof stain, and waterproof glue ar stainless steel nails/screws
oak is cheap wood and it is very strong. Make sure you have a lot of support posts though

Gozer_1
I just finished building a stand for my 45 I'm putting together. I used Pine 2X2s to build a frame.Then I used tongue and groove Aspen 1X6s to enclose it. For the top I used pieces of Poplar 1X6.

Heres the thread with Pictures.

It was all pretty straight foward. Build a minI baby crib with an openning for a door. Slap siding on it, stain or paint, and BAM your done lol. I wish it was that easy. I'm a lousy carpenter.

COBettaCouple
welcome to FishLore! unfortunately my DIY skills would give you an indoor pool. but it looks like our DIY experts are at work to help out with that project.

MagpieTear
Take into account the weight, that's an exceedingly heavy static load. Just the water is almost 1,000 pounds, plus gravel, decorations and whatnot. Add around 100 for the tank itself. First, pick a load bearing wall (exterior wall or over a supported beam) and decide what sort of stand do you want? Open storage underneath? Closed with doors? How good are your fabrication skills? What sort of tools do you have at your disposal?

I'll be glad to give some advice if you know what you're looking for in the end product. Thing is, It most likely will be more attractive than the store bought stands, but also, more expensive. If Budget is a concideration, buy one. If pride and decor are, email me with specifics and I'll give you whatever help I can.