120 gallon salt water fish tank set up $$$ ?

Discussion in 'Saltwater Aquarium Setup' started by maxx56dog, Mar 30, 2010.

1. m

maxx56dog New Member Member

hello my name is maxx and i am relatively new to the salt water world. my goal is to set up and maintain a 120 gallon salt water aquarium. if you would be oh so kind and help me with the items i need and the prices of these items that would be great. i am going to be buying everything new and i need a list of items that i need to get and their prices thanks.
    :;sharky:;sharky:;sharky:;sharky:;sharky:;sharky:;sharkyMAXX

2. harpua2002

harpua2002 Fishlore VIP Member

Hi maxx and welcome to FL! :)

I have a couple of suggestions for you to get you started.

First of all, would you like to have a FOWLR, fish only, or reef tank? Once you decide on that, it is much easier to choose equipment. Reef is going to be the most expensive, by far.

Second of all, are you really set on buying everything new? That's going to be very very expensive. If you have a local reef club, I would suggest joining up as there are often A TON of great deals to be found on used equipment.

Just like everything else, equipment prices vary widely according to quality and brand name. It's important IMO to not cheap out on equipment, but at the same time I do not feel it's necessary to buy the most expensive brands to be successful. For example, my reef tank is doing well although I don't use an $800 bubble king skimmer or a $400 Vortech pump. LOL.