110 Gallons Deep

1. KirkyTurkey

KirkyTurkey Valued Member Member

Hey everyone! I'm a total newbie here who just dove headfirst into the aquarium hobby. I kind of have a unique situation on hand, and I'll admit it is not the best scenario and I think I just have a mix of extreme luck and a ton of dedication to keep the fish I have now alive.

I have a good friend who is really into keeping fish etc. and I bought his 110 gallon and all equipment from him. Super helpful in getting me set up and gave me a good price in exchange for a favor: when I buy the tank I take all his fish to hold onto while he slowly moves over the next month. So day 1 we moved everything over, set up the pumps/filters etc. and I bought ten goldfish to get my cycle started. Things came up and a week into my cycle he had nowhere for the fish to go, so we put his large canister filter on my tank, already with my canister and my hob. My hopes were that the bacteria from his filter would regulate my cycle with his fish in there. Overnight his fish ate all of the goldfish (expected he says) and seemed to be happy. It is now 10 days since I got the tank, my chemical levels were at 7.6pH, 0.25 ammonia, 0.25 nitrite, and 80ppm nitrate last night. I did my first 25% water change, added prime and ich treatment, and plan to test the water when I am off work.

My long term goal is to do graduate research in cephalopods, and I figured it's time to start learning the tricks in keeping an aquarium. So I am starting freshwater, will eventually do a saltwater tank, and years of heavy reading later, will start preparing for an octopus.