110 Gallon Freshwater Build

FishGuy86

Well Known
Member
Messages
534
Reaction score
106
Location
Wesley Chapel, FL
Experience
5 to 10 years
Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Christmas came early for my household...last night I picked up a 4 year old 110 gallon tank, hood and stand combo. Apparentlyit came with the house and they didn't use it for long.

Upon inspection...all of the wood is in perfect shape and the tank has minimal scratches on the glass. In fact...I think the back glass has zero scratches...so I'll end up making that the front.

The tank measures 60" long by 24" tall by 18" deep. Included was a heater, two Sicce Voyager power heads, a Marineland 48" LED light and an EheI'm Ultra G160 canister filter.

Here is a picture:
20171123_190656.jpg


I'm going to clean the tank really well as well as the filter and power heads. I had a couple questions regarding the transition from my current 60 gallon:

1. I currently have two Emperor 400s with SeaChem Matrix and Bio Wheels; should I take the Matrix out of the Emperors and load it in the canister and run the canister on the 60 gallon along with the Emperors? If so...how long do you think I should run the canister to ensure enough BB gets in there? My concern are the Biowheels and the BB they have. Should I take them out and load the canister with even more Matrix? What is good mechanical media for this canister?

2. The tank is 60" long...but the light is 48"...Do you think that's ok or should I get a 60" light? This will be freshwater and I won't be doing any plants.

3. For cleaning...just warm water and vinegar right?

4. I'd like to get an in line heater. Would any of the Hydors be enough for a 110 gallon tank?

5. When I make the actual transition from old to new tank...I'll move my sand substrate to the new tank along with new sand. Will it be ok to fill the tank and then move the fish so long as the filter has been populated with enough BB?

Thank you all for all of your help. I'll be sure to post pictures as I go along.
 

KRL

Active Member
Member
Messages
110
Reaction score
33
Location
Queensland, Australia
Experience
Just started
I’m not going to be too much help but just wanted to say that’s a nice looking tank and I’m looking forward to watching this build.

I’m interested to see some of the answers you’ll get about the BB, as I’m going to be upgrading my tank and need tips on this haha

In terms of the light if you’re not going with a planted tank I don’t think it matters a huge deal. It’s probably more about the aesthetic once the tanks running.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
OP
F

FishGuy86

Well Known
Member
Messages
534
Reaction score
106
Location
Wesley Chapel, FL
Experience
5 to 10 years
KRL said:
I’m not going to be too much help but just wanted to say that’s a nice looking tank and I’m looking forward to watching this build.

I’m interested to see some of the answers you’ll get about the BB, as I’m going to be upgrading my tank and need tips on this haha

In terms of the light if you’re not going with a planted tank I don’t think it matters a huge deal. It’s probably more about the aesthetic once the tanks running.
I was just messing around with the light and found that it has legs that extend out...so I'm able to center it above the tank and it sits right on the rI'm of the tank; based on what I can see...it should be enough. I'll check it out once I get it filled and have decor in there.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #4
OP
F

FishGuy86

Well Known
Member
Messages
534
Reaction score
106
Location
Wesley Chapel, FL
Experience
5 to 10 years
Quick update:

I cleaned up the filter. The people before me must have not used the filter much because it was pretty much clean. I let a few pieces soak in vinegar then scrubbed and rinsed. I went ahead and hooked the filter up to my current tank. The filter itself comes with 4 trays.

The very top tray has a foam filter where the water first enters; it's supposed to catch the big items. Once the water passes through that filter pad, it gets routed to the bottom of the canister where it'll pass through the bottom two trays which are supposedly filled with pre-filter media. Then after those two trays, it hits two trays worth of bio-media and then finally goes through one fine filter pad before returning to the tank. I went ahead and used the pre-filter media that came with the filter; kinda looks like macaronI noodles. For the bio-media trays, I pulled all of the Matrix from my current tank and poured it in the trays along with some of the bio-media that came with the filter.

Don't worry, everything was cleaned and rinsed really well. I'm going to let this filter get seeded while I start working on getting the tank cleaned and the back glass painted.

I have to admit...this EheI'm filter is super quiet. You can't hear it at all...the only filters I hear are the Emperor's that are currently on my tank.
 

DarkOne

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
5,326
Reaction score
6,615
Location
NJ
Experience
More than 10 years
Congrats on the new tank!

The fine filter pad (polishing pad) should be between the bio media and filter pad.
 

86 ssinit

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
6,488
Reaction score
6,954
Location
Long Island
Experience
More than 10 years
Nice Christmas gift!! Congrats I also will be watching this thread. Just ordered a 90gal. Also plan to use media from existing tanks. How many gallons per hour does the EheI'm filter. Also are you saying you have 2 trays of sponges and 2 trays of matrix and noodles?
 

psalm18.2

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
11,424
Reaction score
730
Location
NH
Experience
5 to 10 years
Are you moving the existing tank over to the new tank or keeping them running separately?
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #8
OP
F

FishGuy86

Well Known
Member
Messages
534
Reaction score
106
Location
Wesley Chapel, FL
Experience
5 to 10 years
86 ssinit said:
Nice Christmas gift!! Congrats I also will be watching this thread. Just ordered a 90gal. Also plan to use media from existing tanks. How many gallons per hour does the EheI'm filter. Also are you saying you have 2 trays of sponges and 2 trays of matrix and noodles?
It's rated for up to 160 gallons with 330 GPH. It has 4 trays total and then a fifth "tray" for the sponge. The two filters at the bottom are supposed to be the pre-filter "noodles" and then the two trays above it are the bio-media. The fine filter sponge sits on top of the bio-media. Hopefully that makes sense.

psalm18.2 said:
Are you moving the existing tank over to the new tank or keeping them running separately?
I'm moving the existing tank over to the new tank. My plan is to get this new tank cleaned up and get the back glass painted. Once that's done, I can get new sand, along with sand from my current tank, and start filling it.
 

ounderfla69

Active Member
Member
Messages
436
Reaction score
120
Location
Jacksonville, FL
Experience
4 years
1. I would remove one tray of the prefilter media and add a third tray of biomedia, otherwise is fine.
2. You already solved.
3. I always add a third of lemon juice to cut the smell of the vinegar.
4. Being in FL you should be fine with the 300 watt Hydor.
5. I would rinse the sand well to clean out any mulm in it before putting in the new tank, I don't know what kind of sand you use but pool filter sand is under $10 for 50lbs and if you want black BDBB is $8 for 50lbs at tractor supply.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #10
OP
F

FishGuy86

Well Known
Member
Messages
534
Reaction score
106
Location
Wesley Chapel, FL
Experience
5 to 10 years
ounderfla69 said:
1. I would remove one tray of the prefilter media and add a third tray of biomedia, otherwise is fine.
2. You already solved.
3. I always add a third of lemon juice to cut the smell of the vinegar.
4. Being in FL you should be fine with the 300 watt Hydor.
5. I would rinse the sand well to clean out any mulm in it before putting in the new tank, I don't know what kind of sand you use but pool filter sand is under $10 for 50lbs and if you want black BDBB is $8 for 50lbs at tractor supply.
Thank you for the reply...I'm glad I'm on the right track. How long should I leave the filter running on my existing tank? I probably won't get to cleaning the new tank for a couple weeks...you think that's long enough to have the filter seeded properly?

Also...here are a couple pics with the light on:

White:
20171124_212714.jpg


Blue Moonlights:
20171124_212656.jpg


Also...added some brushed nickel handles to dress up the stand a bit:

Before:
20171124_201628.jpg


After:
20171124_210830.jpg
 

DarkOne

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
5,326
Reaction score
6,615
Location
NJ
Experience
More than 10 years
It would take at least a couple of weeks to seed. 4-6 weeks would be better.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #12
OP
F

FishGuy86

Well Known
Member
Messages
534
Reaction score
106
Location
Wesley Chapel, FL
Experience
5 to 10 years
DarkOne said:
It would take at least a couple of weeks to seed. 4-6 weeks would be better.
What should I do with the bio-wheels in my Emperor filters? Should I eventually take them out to force more BB to populate in the canister?
 

86 ssinit

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
6,488
Reaction score
6,954
Location
Long Island
Experience
More than 10 years
Ok just trying to understand this. I understand what the OP is doing seeding a new filter. But what if you have a fully cycled canister filter running a tank now. Can you take that filter move it to a larger tank (but still good enough for the filter) and start a new tank almost immediately?
 

86 ssinit

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
6,488
Reaction score
6,954
Location
Long Island
Experience
More than 10 years
Jar05g are you saying you want to add the biowheels into one of the trays of the canister filter.
 

DarkOne

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
5,326
Reaction score
6,615
Location
NJ
Experience
More than 10 years
If you already have stock, I would get a bottle of TSS+ and when the 110g is filled with treated water, wait 24 hours and then pour the bottle (8.45 oz/250ml) into the tank with the filter running for about an hour and then put your fish in there. Live plants help a lot too. I was able to cycle a 40 gallon tank in 5 days using TSS+, live plants and 10 Rosy Red Minnows.

TSS+ recommends not doing a water change for 2 weeks so the plants help control the nitrates. I'm getting 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and <10 nitrates from day 5 to day 10 (today). I've added 10 ghost shrimp on day 5 and 8 Cories and 2 baby BN Plecos on day 7 and my tests have been consistently 0, 0, <10.

Make sure you wait 24 hrs after treating water. Water conditioner can kill the BB in TSS+.

86 ssinit said:
Ok just trying to understand this. I understand what the OP is doing seeding a new filter. But what if you have a fully cycled canister filter running a tank now. Can you take that filter move it to a larger tank (but still good enough for the filter) and start a new tank almost immediately?
If you move a cycled canister (or HOB) to a new tank, you should be good but you'll need to add fish very soon after or the lack of ammonia will starve the BB.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #16
OP
F

FishGuy86

Well Known
Member
Messages
534
Reaction score
106
Location
Wesley Chapel, FL
Experience
5 to 10 years
86 ssinit said:
Jar05g are you saying you want to add the biowheels into one of the trays of the canister filter.
No...the bio-wheels wouldn't fit in the trays I don't think. My concern is that with the bio-wheels still running...BB is still populating them instead of the media in the canister. My thought is that if I take out the bio-wheels at some point, the BB will be forced to populate the media inside the canister versus my power filters.

What I don't want to happen is I move the canister to the new tank and get it running and then the tank goes through a mini-cycle.
 

86 ssinit

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
6,488
Reaction score
6,954
Location
Long Island
Experience
More than 10 years
Ok never thought of it like that I thought the bb would grow at the same rate on both. The 60 is a running tank? Do you plan on keeping it?
 

toolman

Well Known
Member
Messages
1,513
Reaction score
1,214
Location
Indiana
I moved the filter media from my ac110 & ac70 on my 75 gallon to my new Fluval 306 canister on my 40b tank when I had a leak. 40b & 306 were brand new, but were cycled in 3 days with a minicycle. Just dosed with Prime for fishes safety.
 

86 ssinit

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
6,488
Reaction score
6,954
Location
Long Island
Experience
More than 10 years
Ok just saw your moving existing fish to new tank so why not add 1 or both of the emperor filters to the new tank instead of the power Heads? The biowheels are fully cycled.
 

Rythmyc

Well Known
Member
Messages
754
Reaction score
378
Experience
Just started
jar05g said:
No...the bio-wheels wouldn't fit in the trays I don't think. My concern is that with the bio-wheels still running...BB is still populating them instead of the media in the canister. My thought is that if I take out the bio-wheels at some point, the BB will be forced to populate the media inside the canister versus my power filters.

What I don't want to happen is I move the canister to the new tank and get it running and then the tank goes through a mini-cycle.
I'm getting ready to perform a similar activity, but I'm pulling seeded media from my 55 Gallon and putting it into my 175.

When I did this for my 10 Gallon, it took a couple days, but it basically instant cycled the filter.

So you're likely to see a minI cycle, but it should only last a couple days while your BB repopulate into the new filter. By the way, since you already moved the media. Check your perimeters. You might be seeing one now.
 

New Threads

Similar Threads

Follow FishLore!

FishLore on Social Media

Online statistics

Members online
84
Guests online
2,076
Total visitors
2,160

Aquarium Photo Contests

Aquarium Calculator

Top Bottom