10g Stocking Questions - Newbie

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by butterypistachio, Jun 29, 2018.

1. butterypistachio

butterypistachioValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +4
    Experience:
    Just started
    Hi I got a 10 gallon tank, with the filter, from my friend when she upgraded to a 30g. This is my first time taking care of my own tank and I have some stocking questions. In my tank I have 1 female guppy, 1male and 1female platy, 2 skirt tetras, and 4 mystery snails. Is this okay?
    Also I keep my water about 2-3 inches from the top, I'm hoping to breed my mysterys.

2. Indeever

IndeeverNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +3
    Experience:
    5 years
  3. emmysjj

emmysjjWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1,102
    Experience:
    5 years
    Hello and welcome to Fishlore :) We are happy to have you here.

Like @Indeever said, are you aware of the nitrogen cycle? If so, if the tank cycled? Do you have a filter or heater? Do you own a test kit? Is the tank planted?

All questions aside, you do have some issues with your stocking. Here:
    1. The platies are livebearers and since you don't have the proper ratio, you will have lots and lots of baby platies.

2. Is the guppy pregnant? (not a tip, just a question)

3. Skirt tetras need to be in groups of 6 or more, and I'm pretty sure they need at least 29 gallons.

4. Mystery snails have a reallly high bioload, and you are already pushing it with your current stock.

As for solutions, you can do one of the following:

1. Rehome everything except the male platy and get 2 more MALE platies.

2. Trade in the female guppy for male guppies, and keep your snails to breed (rehome the tetras and platies).

Or, if you are really attached to a kind of fish (not the skirts, they need a much larger tank) let me know and I'll see if I can work out a stocking plan ;)

4. OP
    OP
    butterypistachio

butterypistachioValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +4
    Experience:
    Just started