10g over stocked? +other questions

1. theicechinchilla Initiate Member

Hi everyone, I'm rather new to fishlore and had a question on whether or not I overstocked my tank. I have 1 albino Bristlenose Pleco, 3 Guppies (1:2 M:F), and one very old, one-eyed Black Skirt Tetra. The pleco is just a baby and will probably relocate him once he gets to 2 - 2 1/2 inches. So I have a couple questions regarding this set up.
    1. Is the Tetra okay by himself? They have a reputation to nip guppies but he has one eye and seems to keep to himself.
    2. Is it mean to keep the tetra like this? I'm afraid that he will be picked on if I put him with his own kind like he was before.
    3. will he eventually become aggressive towards the guppies?
    4. is this over-stocked?

2. clk89 Fishlore VIP Member

TexasDomer will probably be able to help. I believe the bristlenose will need more room then a ten gallon. The black skirt also needs more then a ten gallon, and a group of six or more due to their activity level. The guppys alone with how they breed will probably fill up that ten gallon pretty fast with fry.

3. TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

Agreed. The BN needs a 29 gal minimum and the skirt tetra needs a 20 gal minimum (and 5 more of the same species). I'd rehome both of them (and you can rehome the BN now, no need to wait).

I'd rehome the female guppies and get more males too. Otherwise you'll be overrun with fry (they won't eat them all) and you'll be stressed with the overstocked tank.

4. theicechinchilla Initiate Member

The tetra is like 4 or 5 years old and I don't have the room or money to get a new tank. I can take him to a pet store that takes fish but I don't know if he could even survive that, let alone be put into a good home. I JUST bough the females today because I had two males that were extremely aggressive towards each other. I heard that the proper ratio was 1 male for 2 females. Should I just return all of them then?