10 Gallon Tank Build

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Builds' started by wibbylynn, Jun 26, 2018.

1. wibbylynn

wibbylynn Valued Member Member

I’m gathering things to put together my betta tank and I have some questions. Here is what I have and what I have ordered
    The tank, substrate and log:
    IMG_4302.JPG Image1530038456.478572.jpg IMG_4303.jpg
    The filter and lid:
    IMG_4305.jpg IMG_4304.jpg
    Heater:
    Image1530038633.954992.jpg

I also have a small air pump for the filter but I can’t find it at the moment. It powered a small air stone in my 2 gallon a long time ago, if that doesn’t work I’ll get a new pump.

So I want this tank to be planted, but I’ve never done live plants before. This is kind of going to be my tester before I start live plants on my 50 gallon. The issue is, I doubt this lid has the best lights, so I need some tips on best low light plants that will work in this substrate or glued to this log. Also what plants bettas will like best.

2. c

calsfish New Member Member

3. bryangar

bryangar Well Known Member Member

That light can grow most begginer plants. Anubias, java fern, java moss and maybe crypts. That’s what I have growing in my tank with the stock light.

4. Goldiemom

Goldiemom Well Known Member Member

Attached Files:

5. OP
    OP
    wibbylynn

Oh that’s a good idea! Thanks

6. bryangar

Here’s a side view of my tank. I use a similar light.

Attached Files:

7. OP
    OP
    wibbylynn

Well I just discovered a crack in my tank and it won’t hold water. So now I’m on the hunt for perhaps a 10 gallon tank and light hood.

8. OP
    OP
    wibbylynn

So I tracked down a 10 gallon that has the same brand of lid I was going to buy! I’ll be getting it this weekend hopefully. I wanted a 10 gallon anyway

Will bettas like the little pot decoration? I don’t really like the other one but may use the pot one. As well as the log I originally planned for and live plants View attachment 450535

Last edited: Jun 26, 2018