10 gallon sump build

Discussion in 'Sump' started by SteierFoam, Apr 5, 2010.

1. S

SteierFoam New Member Member

Hey, just picked up a 10 gallon tank of craigslist and plan on making it into a sump for my 37 gallon reef project. I am new to this hobby and had a few questions!

Heres what i plan to do: i want my sump to be at least 3 chamberer, first one a nice skimmer, second one a refugium, and the third my return pump. I understand how the overflow siphon will work, and the whole plumbing process, im just confused on how much GPH i need to be flowing in my 37 gal.

1. how much gallon per hour should I be planning for?
    2. That questions being answered, what size tubing should I be planning for regarding 1. my overflow box, 2. my return pump.
    3. I understand a 10 gal has a lot of space restraints, should i just use a HOB skimmer, or one that goes in the water?
    4. is it possible to find a good quality skimmer small enough to be productive in my 10 gal sump?
    5. Does anyone have a good blueprint for a 10 gal. sump with a refug, and bio filter?
    6. I want to buy my skimmer and pump first and then build sump around it, any recommendations on a skimmer and return pump?

2. Aquarist

Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Good morning,

Let's see if some of our salt members can help you out today.
    Ken

3. locoyo386

locoyo386 Well Known Member Member

Hi there,

For reef I read that they recomend around 40x the volume of the tank;
    37*40=1480 gph, this is total. From here you would subtract the water movement from the powerheads. If you have any, but in a reef tank they are certainly a must. You should look into two of them, maybe around 600 gph each or so. For the return pump you should look for one somewhere around 200-400 gph, or around that number.

Here it depends on the gph of your return pump, but somehwere around 3/4" diameter PVC piping. Do you have an overflow system planned out already?