10 Gallon Stocking. (ultra-beginner)

1. fisher282715 Member Member

Hi everyone,

Brand new here and thinking about getting my first tank. I have been reading up, so I have some basic knowledge, but don't know too much about filters, sumps, etc. But this thread is about fish. I was thinking about getting a ten gallon and was hoping for a setup similar to this but am unsure about what fish specifically. Here it is...

1 group of schooling fish (I was thinking a type of tetra)
    1-2 centerpiece fish. Looking for something slightly bigger than some nano ones, and be the main attraction of the tank. Maybe one that particularly dwells in the middle area?
    A few shrimp and maybe a nerite snail. (Heard these were good cleanup crew)

Can anyone give me a few setups according to this plan?

2. Kenny777 Well Known Member Member

Not much schooling fish can fit in a 10 gallon same with the centerpiece. I can give a few suggestions if you want to here them? But not sure if they interest you?

3. FishFish221 Well Known Member Member

For a 10 gallon, you could do:
    6 Harlequin Rasboras (that would be pushing it)
    2 Male Endler Guppies
    with a aquaclear 30 and the temperature at 77f.

4. fisher282715 Member Member

I would love to hear any options that you have!

5. PLECO657 Member Member

What kind of centerpiece fish are you looking to get? A ten gallon is pretty small and personally I would recommend getting as big of a tank as you can get in the situation. Believe it or not the smaller the tank the harder it is to care for because the water is affected much more by fish waste than a large one. (Take it from me my 55 gallon is 10x easier than my 10 gallon) but for a ten gallon I would say a few tetras and maybe some guppies with a few cherry shrimp would be good. Just make sure your filter can support this amount of fish. ESPECIALLY the biological filtration so you don't suffer from ammonia poisoning.

6. Kenny777 Well Known Member Member

Options: