10 Gallon Planted Setup

1. HNS

HNS Initiate Member

Hey everyone! So I'm relatively new to the game and like a lot of first time betta owners I bought into the "They can survive in a gallon or less!" myth and now I'm paying for it dearly. So far I've got my female betta in a 3.5 gallon semi-cycled tank and a nerite snail (which my betta tried to kill, which is why he lives alone now) in a one gallon bowl. They're both doing pretty well but my goal this summer is to put them both into a 10 gallon tank with a divider, giving my snail and potentially some shrimp 2-3 gallons and my betta 7-8. This tank has been cycling for 4 weeks or so and I'm going shopping tomorrow for decor and new substrate. I'm hoping to ideally have this tank very heavily planted with live plants and just make it the best home I can to make up for the bad start I had with both of them. So, I could really use some advice because their seems to be a lot of info out there that contradicts.

1. Best plants for both the snail and betta? My snail is living with an anubias right now and that's the only live plant I have. I'm hoping to get some java fern and potentially other planted plants which brings me to:
    2. What sort of substrate to use? Right now I have some hand-me-down rainbow gravel which I hate. I'm most comfortable with gravel but know a lot of people use sand and am wondering what the pros are of sand over gravel? Especially in a planted tank? Also am open to using eco-substrate but am sort of confused as to how to maintain that.