10 Gallon Home Aquarium Setup by a Newbie

PurpleFish

Researching how to take care of a 10g with fish I was given has gotten me addicted! That tank is in my classroom. I’m a science teacher and my wildlife class will be caring for it when school starts. So they will make all the decisions (I monitor for safety). Thus, I bought myself a 10g for home where I get to do what I want :) Pic below - I’m crooked, the table is level!

The tank is an Aqueon kit: hood with some LEDs, Aqueon filter, Aqueon heater, net, and Aqueon water conditioner. I also bought Seachem’s Stability for new tanks.

I washed my gravel but am not sure I have enough. I’ve put in 10 pounds of dark brow colors and black. Then I have another 5lbs of dark purple as an accent color. With the first 10 pounds, it’s barely an inch deep. Will adding 5 more be enough? Or should I order more of the dark brown?
Thought of more questions…

Should I use the Aqueon 50 watt, 5-inch long heater or the Aquatop 50watt, 8-inch one? I’m hoping to stock ember tetras once the tank is cycled.

Speaking of cycling, I put a filter cartridge in the classroom tank but it wouldn’t fit in the filter so I put it along the glass and pushed down into the gravel so it would stay put. Will bacteria colonize it that way? I brought some gravel and fake plants from the classroom tank to help with starting this tank’s cycle.

Attachments

• E0AFF270-F0BF-4A23-A9EF-5487EF85E303.jpeg
    E0AFF270-F0BF-4A23-A9EF-5487EF85E303.jpeg
    136 KB · Views: 24

KingOscar

I washed my gravel but am not sure I have enough. I’ve put in 10 pounds of dark brow colors and black. Then I have another 5lbs of dark purple as an accent color. With the first 10 pounds, it’s barely an inch deep. Will adding 5 more be enough? Or should I order more of the dark brown?
Thought of more questions…