10 gallon Fishtank - 4 fish

SkrimJohn

Reaction score
Hello, I just started fishkeeping last week and I really enjoy it so far, but as I read more and more about fishkeeping I'm beginning to realise that I'm not doing it right. I bought a 10 gallon fish tank from my friend, without much research, I poured tap water and turned on a filter for 3 days, then I went to pet shop to get some fish! I told a lady that I'm a complete beginner, and asked her how many fish I can keep in my 10 gallon tank. She told me 5 max 6. I bought 4 of them, 3 comets and 1 black moor. It's been a couple days now, and I don't see any issues related to health of my fish but I'm worried that it might not last long. What should be my next steps? How many fish and which species I should keep in my tank? I need a guidance, please :(.91341948_812662502570508_2749051623769636864_n.png91139556_511231656208416_1813370084685512704_n.jpg

QCAquaholic

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
A 10 gallon isn't large enough for one goldfish much less 4. Goldfish are also very messy so they'd fill that tank up with ammonia pretty quickly. Hopefully you can take them back to the pet store.

MacZ

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
BettaBender said:
A 10 gallon isn't large enough for one goldfish much less 4. Goldfish are also very messy so they'd fill that tank up with ammonia pretty quickly. Hopefully you can take them back to the pet store.
Yeah, have to agree, no goldfish in less than a 55 gallon tank and even then not more than 3 individuals. Comet tails I wouldn't even keep in less than a 100 gallon or a tank of less than 8 feet length.

Magicpenny75

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Please take them back right away. That was pretty awful of them to sell you four goldfish for a ten gallon tank....
First off... please read up on the Nitrogen Cycle.