10 Gallon Cycle Questions

Smiley0515

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Ok so I'm new to fish tanks but did as much research as possible. I decided to do a fish in cycle with my new 10 gallon. I made the decision to do this with 3 cherry barbs. It's been 3 weeks of feeding them small amounts daily, doing 10 to 20% water changes and testing the water every other day or so. My PH stays pretty consistent at 7.4ish. Ammonia just recently seems to be up around .25 ppm, 0 nitrites and 0 nitrates. I know cycling can take some time and I've been patient and trying to do it by the book. I haven't changed the filter cartridge even though the red light is flashing. My question is, can i add Tetra Safe Start to help boost the bacteria growth? My little guys seem completely fine and very happy actually, but now that the ammonia is finally starting to go up I want to help the cycle along a bit. I haven't done a water change since yesterday morning so I think if I was going go to add it, now would be good since the water hasnt been conditioned in 24 hours. Thoughts?

Skavatar

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
yes, add it now.

you can get a small bucket of the tank water and gently rinse out the filter cartridge. there's probably a lot of gunk in there. and if it has carbon in it, after about 6 weeks you'll need to cut it open and get rid of the carbon.

depending on what filter you have, you can mod/add extra bio media in there.

Smiley0515

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Skavatar said:
yes, add it now.
Simple response which is great! Since Im new to this I was half expecting someone to tell me I was doing it all wrong Haha! Thank you!

Ohio Mark

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I just want to add a welcome to FishLore.

Smiley0515

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Skavatar said: