10 Gallon Beginner Tank

Belkkc

Reaction score
Hello! I am looking for some advice on my new 10 gallon.
I currently have three Black Skirt Tetras, three Zebra Danios and two African Dwarf frogs in my tank.
The tetras are having a hard time; they don't swim a lot, as they tend to stay in one part of the tank for long periods of time together. The danios act similarly. I did research before I went to pick out my fish with the intentions of getting 6 neon tetras, but the store was out and I went with the three of both species. I did research after I got the fish and now know they are both schooling fish, and I wanted to know whether I should go back and get two more of each kind. This seems plausible to me, but I'm worried the tank is too small to house 10 fish and two frogs, even though the frogs are so tiny. I should also mention I am a college student and 10 gallons is the maximum tank size, so a larger tank is not an option. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am an EXCITED fish owner and want to do what is best for them. Thanks in advance!

Kelsey

Dom90

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
The reason these fish are not as active as they should be is because they are not in an appropriate sized tank. The minimum tank size for both tetras and zebra danios is 20 gallon. I would suggest rehoming all your fish and getting appropriate fish for a 10 gallon of getting a bigger tank is not an option.

LiterallyHydro

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hello, welcome to Fishlore.

Since a larger aquarium isn't an option for you, you should consider re-homing your fish to get fish more suitable for your size aquarium.

Are you familiar with the nitrogen cycle? If you didn't cycle the aquarium first, it's likely the tank has ammonia and the fish would be suffering.

Here's a link to the Fishlore page regarding the nitrogen cycle.

https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm

thinkpink94

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started