10 Gallon Aquarium Cycle Questions

EddieO

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I am new to this hobby and have just set up a 10 gallon aquarium 3 days ago. I added top fin water conditioner and top fin ReadiStart Bacteria starter. Past two days I have had readings of :

Ammonia : 0.25 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate : 0 ppm
I did a 10% water change today and still have same levels.

I have the liquid test kit for ammonia but bought strips that have nitrite and nitrate. I realize now that’s a bad move and I am buying the API master kit tomorrow. I want to know if my ammonia level is normal for this part of the cycle and if I should add TetraSmart Starter and Prime if I already added the others.

Along with this, my water appears to be slightly cloudy and I want to know if this is normal. Please let me know ! Thanks !

Jim2195

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I have actually never done water tests on my aquariums before, when first setting up I just let the tank run without fish for about a week and then it should be ready. It’s always gone fine like that.
Hopefully someone with actual water testing knowledge will respond.
Secondly when I first set up tanks, usually when setting up with new gravel and plants the water gets a teeny bit cloudy. It shouldn’t affect things too much.

EddieO

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Okay thanks. I thought that’s what caused the cloudiness but I wasn’t too sure. I was hoping the cycle would only take a week or two but we’ll see!

Jim2195

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
A week should be a good amount of time to cycle a tank, especially the fact it’s only a ten gallon.

EddieO

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Jim2195 said:
A week should be a good amount of time to cycle a tank, especially the fact it’s only a ten gallon.
Okay cool thanks. Do you think I could add fish at a week even if the levels aren’t perfect yet?

Jim2195

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience