1 Month No Nitrites Or Nitrates

AxolotlKnight

Active Member
Member
Messages
51
Reaction score
41
Location
Florida
Experience
Just started
I've literally been reading about Fishless Cycling for weeks before I started mine and currently it's been 31 days of my 20 gallon fishless cycling and I think I'm doing something wrong.

I'm using a API Kit & I definitely bang Nitrate bottle #2 until my arm hurts.

Most recent test results:
Temp - 75
PH - 7.6
Ammonia - 2.0-4.0ppm (used Fritz Pro Aquatics brand)
Nitrite - 0ppm (used Dr. Tims one & only)
Nitrate - 0ppm

(I swear my results have stayed like that this whole time)
Maybe it's stalled?
 

Addie42

Well Known
Member
Messages
1,840
Reaction score
1,367
Location
Ottawa
that’s super weird
are you 100% sure you’re following the master kit directions to a T? o_O
are you doing a lot of water changes or something?
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
OP
AxolotlKnight

AxolotlKnight

Active Member
Member
Messages
51
Reaction score
41
Location
Florida
Experience
Just started
Addie42 said:
that’s super weird
are you 100% sure you’re following the master kit directions to a T? o_O
are you doing a lot of water changes or something?
I've done 1 water change which I believe was 2 weeks ago. My ammonia seemed to have been higher than 4ppm so I wanted to bring it down a bit. and yes, I make sure I do the test exactly as instructed.. no changes
 

toosie

Fishlore VIP
Member
Messages
4,400
Reaction score
601
Experience
More than 10 years
How many times have you had to add ammonia?

What filter and filter media are you using?
 

Addie42

Well Known
Member
Messages
1,840
Reaction score
1,367
Location
Ottawa
AxolotlKnight said:
I've done 1 water change which I believe was 2 weeks ago. My ammonia seemed to have been higher than 4ppm so I wanted to bring it down a bit. and yes, I make sure I do the test exactly as instructed.. no changes
That’s so strange
Are you like rinsing out your media or something? I’m sorry if these are stupid questions I just don’t know why it isn’t cycling

What water conditioner are you using?

What’s your pH?? Is it like crazy acidic??
 

Dawn Michele

Well Known
Member
Messages
2,538
Reaction score
2,580
Location
Florida
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to Fishlore!!! That is weird it's NOT cycling!!!
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #7
OP
AxolotlKnight

AxolotlKnight

Active Member
Member
Messages
51
Reaction score
41
Location
Florida
Experience
Just started
PH- 7.6, is that okay?

& nope, I haven't cleaned anything in that tank yet.

I used stability for the first 7 days then I switched to Prime whenever I wanted to refill the tank back up to the top.

Idk what I should do, maybe start over and use different products?

Dawn Michele said:
Welcome to Fishlore!!! That is weird it's NOT cycling!!!
Thank you! & I know, I feel like it won't ever move..
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,338
Reaction score
14,989
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
Stability is a bacteria starter and prime is a dechlorinator. Did you dechlorinate the original water? If not and you only added the stability the chlorine probably killed it.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #10
OP
AxolotlKnight

AxolotlKnight

Active Member
Member
Messages
51
Reaction score
41
Location
Florida
Experience
Just started
toosie said:
How many times have you had to add ammonia?

What filter and filter media are you using?
I added ammonia once, hasn't changed for me to have to add more

& I'm using a Tetra filter & the filter cartilage that it came with it for a 20 gallon tank

david1978 said:
Stability is a bacteria starter and prime is a dechlorinator. Did you dechlorinate the original water? If not and you only added the stability the chlorine probably killed it.
Yes, I added prime to the water before adding it to the tank.

Would it be pointless to start over?
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,338
Reaction score
14,989
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
AxolotlKnight said:
Do you think it would be pointless to start over?
I edited my post. You were just too quick. Lol
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #14
OP
AxolotlKnight

AxolotlKnight

Active Member
Member
Messages
51
Reaction score
41
Location
Florida
Experience
Just started
david1978 said:
Well it was a thought. I don't see a point in starting over. Behaps try tetra safe start plus but not start completely over.
Since i've already added dr.tims one and only, is it possible to add too much bacteria?
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,338
Reaction score
14,989
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
So you used fritz ammonia and Dr tims bacteria starter?
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #16
OP
AxolotlKnight

AxolotlKnight

Active Member
Member
Messages
51
Reaction score
41
Location
Florida
Experience
Just started
david1978 said:
So you used fritz ammonia and Dr tims bacteria starter?
Yes, ammonia first then dr.tims after a few days. Was that the right way?
 

Pete Nielsson

New Member
Member
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I don't think it's smart to waterchange before detecting nitrite. I don't remember the exact number, but you could have started with too much ammonia and therefore killing the bacteria Think recommended ppm is 5, but the tests are not perfect. If that is the case you have really only been cycling for 2 weeks. And it can take more than 2 weeks before nitrite shows.
Just a thought
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,338
Reaction score
14,989
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
I disagree with 5 being the max. We have had members dose ammonia off the charts and it still cycled normally. Yea you did it in the right order. Dr tims is a good bacteria but it is possible for it to be a dud.
 
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #19
OP
AxolotlKnight

AxolotlKnight

Active Member
Member
Messages
51
Reaction score
41
Location
Florida
Experience
Just started
Pete Nielsson said:
I don't think it's smart to waterchange before detecting nitrite. I don't remember the exact number, but you could have started with too much ammonia and therefore killing the bacteria Think recommended ppm is 5, but the tests are not perfect. If that is the case you have really only been cycling for 2 weeks. And it can take more than 2 weeks before nitrite shows.
Just a thought
Only reason why I did a water change was because the test came back as the darkest green on the chart. I heard too much ammonia can stall the tank. Therefore the reason of the water change. You are right though, maybe that water change did bring me back 2 weeks..
 

david1978

Fishlore Legend
Member
Messages
15,338
Reaction score
14,989
Location
pa usa
Experience
More than 10 years
The water change shouldn't of hurt anything. Some times it seems like they help especially in cases were you have a low kh and it gets used up.
 

New Threads

Follow FishLore!

FishLore on Social Media

Online statistics

Members online
234
Guests online
3,036
Total visitors
3,270

Aquarium Photo Contests

Aquarium Calculator

Top Bottom