1.5g Nanotank 5 Weeks Old, Dead Fish Problem

Leoninhk

Reaction score
Dear fishlore community,

I am relatively new to the hobby and have set myself up with a 1.5 gallon planted nanotank. I tried following what I learnt from the community so my tank evolves healthily but my most recently added fish died.. here’s how I have set up the tank

Week 1: substrate, hang back filter (only sponge), hardscape, only carpet plants. Started adding photosynthetic bacteria and fertilizing liquid. Started ghost feeding fish food to spike ammonium level for nitrifying bacteria to grow in the substrate

Week 2: more plants, continue ghost feeding fish food, adding photosynthetic bacteria and fertilizing liquid

Week 3: added first livestock - otocinclus, and 5 amano shrimps. All survived. Stopped ghost feeding, relying on the live stock to produce nitrogen waste. Started weekly water change

Week 4: added 10 mosquito rasborras, 2 died, the rest survived to date. Has some hair algae problem so I added one large amano, it absolutely killed those algae. Might return this amano to the shop because it doesn’t look that good.

Week 5: added 2 top layer focal point fish (my main characters), beautiful rainbows, a male and a female. (They look pretty big and dominant in my 1.5 gallon) but, both died within days. Also added two nerite snails

I keep track of my nitros, ammonium and nitrate sometimes are high, I water change and it becomes fine. Nitrites are never high tho, does this mean I don’t have nitrifying bacteria in the tank?

The rainbows has white and slightly broken lips before they died, is this some sort of infection? Or just physical injury? Could this imply why they died?

My water surface has some oil or biofilm looking substance which I try to scoop out. Is this something concerning? (Random hypothesis, these biofilm are bad bacteria and the rainbows feed from water surface, this infects their mouth?!?)

My amanos, Otto, and rasborras are doing fine it seems. So far.