Tested all my water conditions, please help me understand KH, etc…

1. PaulT Initiate Member

I'm fairly new to aquariums. In preparation of setting up a 55 gallon, I have been running a 10 gallon tank for six weeks now, which will become a quarantine tank in the future.

It seems cycled, I used old media and fish without problems. 2 guppies, 5 zebra danio’s & 1 Pleco reside in tank, with 3 live plants.

My current water conditions are: (using API master kit and KH+GH API kit)

PH 7.6
    Ammonia 0
    Nitrite 0
    Nitrate 7.5

Here is where I’m confused:

KH = 1 drop only to get yellow (0-50ppm). BUT, I never had any blue they mention in the directions for kit.

GH= approximately 6 or 7 drops to get the green I am looking for. That said, I never had any hint of orange the directions mention the water will start with. And the green I do get is very pale! Barely green.

With both KH and GH the directions state I’ll begin with a certain colour in the tube and add drops until I reach the colour I’m looking for to satisfy the test application.

Well, for both test I never had the “starting” colour so I just added drops until the appropriate colour resulted as per the test.

Is my KH to low, should I be worried? What about GH?

I plan on setting up the 55 gallon the same way with angelfish and maybe clown loaches.

Comments and insights on overall water conditions would be helpful.

Thank you. Paul

2. Annie424 Well Known Member Member