Stocking ideas?

1. jglove276 Member Member

Well I am looking for some stocking advice. I am currently working out some issues with my tank cycle in the Aquarium Beginners forum but I am sure I will get there. Here are some fish I like just want to know if they will work with my tank and with each other and how many can I have.

Harlequin Rasbora
    Tiger Barb
    Starry Night Pleco
    marble veils angel

Also is there a certain order to add these.
    I have a 38gal tank and more info in my bio with pics.

2. peacemaker92 Well Known Member Member

Hi Jglove,

The angel fish, I'd go with only one. Tiger Barbs prefer to be in a group of 6 or more. I'm not very experienced with the others. Wait for other members to share their opinions :)

3. Gouramiguy17 Well Known Member Member

I think the tiger barbs might shred the angels long flowing fins

4. iloveengl Well Known Member Member

This was my first thought, too. But I've never had personal experience with them - just read other people's anecdotes about their nippy behavior. Sorry I can't be of more help with stocking.

If you have any questions about the cycle, how to get it started, what your readings should be, etc., just ask. We're happy to help. :)

5. jglove276 Member Member

Ok did some more research and would agree the tiger barbs probably would not play nice with an angle so I think I found an alternative.

6-8 Harlequin Rasbora
    6 Tiger Barb (kids are set on having these)
    Pair of Bolivian Rams

It is my understanding that Bolivian Rams are more forgiving than GBR. Has anyone have any experience with these? And should they be added last. Also I would like to have a pair but not sure I can handle them mating would appreciate any advice or suggestions.

6. bolivianbaby Fishlore Legend Member