Picking the right filter?

1. annaleigh Member Member

Hey. So I am wanting to add a second filter to my tank. I have the Aqueon 36gal kit that came with QuietFlow 30. I'm still very new to the hobby, so I dont actually know if this is a good filter? What I do know though is that it isn't enough filtration. So-

1.should I get a second Quietflow? why/why not?
    2. what are your favorite filters?
    3. how should i go about if instead of adding a second filter, i introduce a brand new one with double the capacity and not risk losing BB establishment from the old filter?

Ive had my tank set up for a month, fish-in and am still cycling (no nitrates yet!!! ugh)

Also- are gravel vacuums necessary if I have "sand" substrate? Its called sand but its not beach sand, looks more like a smaller gravel

2. tokiodreamy Well Known Member Member

Hello!

Okay so you'll need to know what the gph is on your current filter. There's a thread here somewhere that lists a lot of it.
    You'll want 8-10x your tank volume, so with a 36g you'll want 288-360gph.
    I have 2 HOB filters on my 29g. I have a Topfin 30 (old version they dont make anymore. Dont get the new one) an API Superclean 50.
    On my 20g I have a Second Nature Whisper 1 (which they don't make anymore).
    On my 10g QT I have a Fluval Aquaclear 30.

API superclean 50
    PROS:
    - two intakes. One normal and one at the waterline
    - comes with biomedia rack and filter cartridge
    - powerful filtration
    - adjustable counter to set a date when to clean your filter next
    -knob to adjust flow

CONS:
    -filter media cartridge is sealed so unless you cut it, you cannot replace the carbon without throwing it out. I just got another cartridge that can be opened and replaced it.
    - not sure if the top intake does anything extra
    - when doing waterchanges you need to unplug it sincethe top intake is at the waterline

Fluval Aquaclear 30
    PROS:
    - comes with sponge, carbon, and biomedia